The Melbourne Cup 2015 Preview

On 3rd November, more than 100,000 people will gather in Melbourne for one of the most exciting races of the year. The Melbourne Cup always takes place the first Tuesday in November and tends to be popular. This year, horses are competing for the highest honour. After a great deal of excitement in the lead-up to the race, we are not long away from the event. We thought it was high time we took a quick look at what may happen when the race begins. So, who will win the cup? Here is everything you need to know.

The Melbourne Cup

Many people call this event ‘the race that stops the nation.’ The truth of the matter is the Melbourne Cup Carnival is one of the biggest and most exciting events in Australia. The race dates well back to 1861 when the first of its kind took place. Back then, the race was over two miles long. Now, the organisers have made it much shorter than it once was. Each time this event starts, horses and jockeys compete to win the best prize. If they are victorious, they get a chance to lift the prestigious Melbourne Cup. This year’s events are sure to be as tense as they are exciting.

Flemington Racecourse

The race is at the Flemington Racecourse – a historic ground. Horses must run the entire circuit in the fastest possible time. In reality, the course is a massive 3200 metres long. That means that this race is as much about endurance as it is quickness. Of course, each competitor must go through years of training before they can earn a spot. Before the main event, there is a series of small events that determine who will compete. The record-holder, Kingston Rule, who won back in 1990, is the fastest of all time. The recorded speed then was an incredible 3:16.3. No one has even beaten that speed, but it could all change this year!

Recent Winners

So, who are the recent trophy winners? Well, last year, none other than Protectionist won the race. Second place went to Red Cadeaux and third went to Who Shot Thebarman. As we have seen many times before, though, there is no telling who will win. Right now, there are many competitors waiting to show us what they can do. Only time will tell who can make it. Over the years, there have been loads of different winners. Since the game attracts many gamblers, it means that there are always high stakes.

Cup Facts
Over its history, there have been some fantastic competitors. In fact, Makybe Diva has won the trophy a record number of three times. Aside from that, The Pearl, Wotan and Old Rowley all won the race despite their odds. Each horse had 100-1 odds of winning, yet managed to do it all the same. That means that sometimes, you should ignore what the bookies tell you! This year, there is everything to play for and there are some excellent horses. So, who do you think will take home the trophy?